Pettengill Farm

A visit to Pettengill Farm is stepping through time
Visiting Pettengill Farm is akin to time traveling. Once a nineteenth century salt-water farm on the estuary of the Harraseeket River, today the FHS owns and maintains the iconic saltbox house (ca. 1810) and 140 acres of fields, woods, antique apple orchards, and salt marsh for future generations. 

Experience Pettengill Farm

Pettengill Farm, Freeport Historical Society

Visit the farm 

The grounds, including gardens, fields, and four forest trails are open to the public, dawn to dusk, year-round. Download our self-guided tour and trail map here


31 Pettengill Road, Freeport, Maine 04032

From Main Street in Freeport, turn east on Bow Street (across from L. L. Bean, Inc. main entrance). Go 1.5 miles; turn right onto Pettengill Road. Park at the gate. Walk the dirt road for about 15 minutes to the farmhouse.

In support of Pettengill Farm, we welcome your donation in the metal house-shaped box at the gate.

Tours of FreeportLearn about Pettengill Farm

Due to the sensitive condition of the house, we open the farmhouse only a few times a season, like Pettengill Farm Day (usually held the first weekend in October).

Check our News & Events page or sign up for our email list to hear about other programs at Pettengill Farm.

Private tours of the  Pettengill Farmhouse are available for groups of two or more with advanced notice. More info here. 

Pettengill Farm Day

Sunday October 1, 2023
10:30 AM-2:30 PM

Join us each fall for Pettengill Farm Day, a community festival where we help make history come alive.

Woman spinning at Pettengill Farm Day